The Musings of a Modern Feminist

An amateur poet's take on feminism

Is it impossible?


I would to apologise in advance for the unsatisfactory ending of this poem. That’s because it isn’t actually finished; I don’t have an answer yet. When I do, I will finish it properly. Anyway, here is Is it possible?: Part 1

Romance and feminism
Can they fit together?
Or are they just too different
Like lead and a bird’s feather?
Can I desire romance and the right
To be treated as truly human?
Must I sacrifice one in the fight
To gain the other?
When I speak and rant about my cause,
Am I pushing men away?
Should I, perhaps, stop a moment
And consider the other way?
Does being a feminist truly mean
That I cannot find ‘true love’?
Is this only to be seen?
Observed from afar?
Or is this merely an excuse?
A reason for my solitude?
Is it really any use
Trying to change a thing?
I do not have these answers yet
I really do not know.
I’ll return again a little wiser
But now it’s time to go.

P.S. I don’t normally do this, but I have been asked to do a little shout out. Happy birthday to a young Chinese (now) man in my form! May this 18th year bring you hope, happiness and peace.

Leave a Reply

