The Musings of a Modern Feminist

An amateur poet's take on feminism

Just a little girl


I’m not too sure what I think about gender roles. I guess they’re a natural, and not necessarily damaging, part of every society but become damaging if they become restrictive. To a certain extent, this isn’t a huge issue for me personally as my parents were always very supportive of my tomboy-ish-ness when I was young but I do still feel certain pressures to conform to what it means to be a ‘woman’. I hope my portrayal of that pressure is not patronising and I apologise if it is, but in my defence it’s something i’m still discovering and exploring myself. This poem will be in two parts with part 2 being released next week. Now I present Just a Little Girl

I am just a little girl
With my barbie doll
I hold it by its long blonde hair
And yearn for a rugby ball.

I am just a little girl
Buying a dress with mum
All I want are some dungarees
To go and have some fun.

I am just a little girl
Trying to fit in.
But I don’t like fashion, dolls or make up
Is that such a sin?

I am just a pre-teen girl
With my first mobile phone
I want to ring up some of the lads
But that just isn’t done.

I am just a pre-teen girl
Buying my very first bra.
Mum picks out a pink push-up
”Womanhood isn’t that far.”

I am just a pre-teen girl
Trying to fit in.
I ditched by rugby ball last week
Threw it in the bin.

Soon I’ll be a teenage girl
And I’ll finally fit in.
I’ll have the right clothes, shoes and hair
Be what it says on the tin.

Leave a Reply

