The Musings of a Modern Feminist

An amateur poet's take on feminism

Just a teenage girl


I would first like to apologise for the late release; i’ve been so busy the blog went completely out of my head! But now here is the conclusion to last week’s poem. Enjoy!

Just a young teenage girl
With my make up bag.
Trying on all different look
From a girly mag.

Just a young teenage girl
Buying a mini skirt.
‘Maybe i’ll buy some high heels to.
I need to learn to flirt.’

Just a young teenage girl
Starting to fit in.
Know how to dress and speak and act
I’m finally starting to win!

Just an older teenage girl
With my first boyfriend.
He likes me for my compliance
So to his will I bend.

Just an older teenage girl
Going on the Pill.
He doesn’t want me to get pregnant see,
So I never will.

Just an older teenage girl
And apparently I’ve won.
I’ve got everything a girl is meant to have
But it isn’t any fun.

One day i’ll be more than ‘just a girl’
Who’s trying to fit in.
One day i’ll just be myself
Then i’ll truly win.

Leave a Reply

