The Musings of a Modern Feminist

An amateur poet's take on feminism

To be a Catholic


This is a poem I wrote some time ago after one of the many disputes I have had with feminists about my faith versus my feminism. There seems to be a perception that I cannot be a proper feminist because I am a Catholic and this poem is a reply to that perception.

 

Catholic feminism:

An oxymoron?

Is Catholicism

So misogynist?

Teaching love of neighbour

Is that so wrong?

To do a person a favour

Is that chauvinist?

Perhaps some teachings

Appear at odds

With my feminist leanings.

But not so.

Sexual health

Has its root

In the spiritual wealth

Of Scripture.

But that is unimportant

In the face

Of giving thanks

To God.

Love all you meet

And all those you don’t

And always treat

Them like your own.

Love, love is what counts

That is the root of it all.

Ignoring that is tantamount

To ripping out my faith’s soul.

So do not tell me I’m not a feminist

Because I follow the Pope.

All true Catholics are on the list

Because of that Love.

To Catholics I say,

Pick up the cause!

Because that is the only way

We can follow Our Lord.

Women are God’s children

Loved by Him

Just as much as men.

Remember that.

 

2 responses to “To be a Catholic

  1. Katerintree January 31, 2012 at 10:44 PM

    I can tell I’m going to enjoy reading your blog, and I hope you enjoy reading mine. I, too, am a feminist (and I’m even a liberal, gasp!) Catholic.

    And yes, feminisim is very much in line with Church teaching. I know I wrote about that someplace. And, by the way, pro-life is pro-woman (since at least half, probably more of the babies who are aborted are female – why does that never make the pro-choice placards?)

    • queenofgondor January 31, 2012 at 10:48 PM

      Thanks a lot! I have enjoyed your blog and I look forward to reading more from a fellow liberal feminist Catholic!

Leave a Reply

