The Musings of a Modern Feminist

An amateur poet's take on feminism

Lent: part 1


Well tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and the Christian festival of Lent shall begin! So, as part of that, my poems for the next six weeks shall be Lent themed.

Lent is a time of prayer, and of quiet contemplation on the Passion, Death and Resurrection of Jesus Christ. Lent and Easter is the most important of the year for Christians because it is on the Passion, Death and Resurrection that our faith is intrinsically based. It is what empowers and drives Christianity because it shows that perfect, self sacrificing love that God has for us.

I shall endeavour to explore that love each week and see what I can make of it. I will never be able to adequately express it (it’s like trying to fit an ocean in a walnut shell) but I will do my best!

Ashes falling
Days lighten
A voice is calling
‘Come to me’.
Eyes closed
A quiet moment
Call to mind those
Prideful times.

Cross is forming
Reminding me
Of times coming
One day soon.
From dust He made
This mortal frame
To dust He bade
Return once more.

Mind is free
Not a thought of darkness
Comes near me
Just light. Simply life.
I have no fear
Of the coming end
Not when I hear
That still, small voice.

An ashen cross
Adorns my head
I fear not loss
Nor pain nor death.
For my Lord is here
The road begun
The Passion is near
The Passion of Love.

Leave a Reply

